Working With God’s Gift

Always give yourself fully to the work of the Lord. – 1 Cor 15:58

My husband is amazing sometimes. The phone will ring and someone will ask, “Can you do this…?” or “Will you help with…?” and he will say yes.  He knows what he can do and when people call him, he knows that God expects him to provide to the greatest of his ability. His God gift is service. He joyfully serves in the church, with family, with friends, & in any way he can.

I am opposite. I begrudgingly will say yes to things that my heart is not fully invested in.  It just seems like there is no time, I am neglecting my kids if I take on one more thing, or I am not experienced enough to deal with whatever the case may be.  Service is not my gift and saying “No” comes easy to me.

Then I wondered what “gift” this leaves for my children. Are they seeing me as a light who answers when God is calling me to help someone else? How do I teach them that little is much when God is involved? How do I take my attitude of disdain towards one more chore, and use it to bring glory to God?  Am I using my gift of motherhood as a representative of His love for my children?  My greatest work IS my children and that everyday in small ways I can show them the fruits of kindness, goodness, faithfulness, love, joy…well you get the point, not just to them but to others around me who need my assistance in even the smallest ways.

I am encouraged that Julia Child knew nothing of cooking until her late 30’s. I’ve still got time. 🙂  I see my toddlers build with blocks and some build towers and others build complex designs and I realize these are amazing structures that they are building.  If my gift is setting an example for my children, God will use it as a masterpiece in the end that Glorifies Him.  Thankfully, just in the nick of time, my sister tells me out of the blue that she loves my laid back attitude and that I am a great mom.  Words I needed to hear.  Her gift is definitely encouragement.

“I used to ask God to help me. Then I asked if I might help Him. I ended up by asking Him to do His work through me”. – James Hudson Taylor

Leave a Reply

