The Eye Of The Beholder

“Some people see the glass half full. Others see it half empty.
I see a glass that’s twice as big as it needs to be.”  – George Carlin

A newborn’s cry may sound like a siren to a new mom, but a seasoned mom will just chuckle on how quiet the newborn’s cry is. Veteran moms with toddlers know you haven’t heard anything until you’ve heard the wail of a 2 year old being forced to share a toy. These experienced moms have perspective when it comes to crying.

Our viewpoints tend to color everything we say, do, think, and feel. Our perception determines if the glass is half empty or half full. God wants us to keep our perspective on Him. As long as Peter kept his eyes on Jesus, he walked on water. That is heavenly perspective personified. When Peter took his eyes off Jesus, he began to sink. Often times we go through situations in our lives where we are saddled with problems and struggles.  These are like strong winds and waves that bashes against us, eating us up. Keeping our eyes on God keeps even the most pressing situations in perspective for us.

What is your outlook on life? If you’re facing piles of laundry, dishes, financial woes, or wailing wee ones, stop and think for a moment. Look at your life from another perspective. Eventually, your toddler will be potty trained. Eventually your teen will talk to you again without arguing. Buried under our piles of life, we will find sloppy kisses, silly songs, and innocent laughter. We find those precious moments if we are looking right at them.

Today I wanted to be a Martha and clean my house. I have piles of laundry, dishes, vacuuming, painting, organizing, and so much more to do as people are coming over next weekend for my daughter’s birthday. Instead, I took my kids outside and photographed them playing in the leaves on a perfect fall day. Changing my perspective to Mary is not easy for me. Just enjoying my kids takes a change of viewpoint for me on some days. But I know if I were to keep the same old point of view, I would miss out on all those great little moments of life.

I also know my kids are gaining invaluable perspective from me. Am I showing them how to look beyond obstacles to find possibilities? Am I showing them that their greatest challenges may become their greatest strength later in life? Am I praising them when I see things through their unique perspective? Our house is divided on whom to vote for in the election right now, but each of my children offers a different perspective as to why they would vote for that particular nominee.

I am always reminded of the story Chicken Little and the perspective this little hen had. Am I a Henny Penny with my sky always falling in all around me or am I a Peter walking on water because my eyes are on Jesus?

Leave a Reply

