Fresh Brewed Faith

faith 2“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.” -Isaiah 40:29-30 NIV

Every morning I walk straight to the coffee pot and push the ON button. Saying I like coffee is putting it mildly. I’m a coffee junky. I like a piping-hot, medium roast with cream and a bit of sweetener, and I struggle to function without my first cup of coffee. I crave that first sip and relish the warmth of the mug in my hands, especially on these cold Nebraska winter mornings. My mornings just wouldn’t be the same without coffee!

I should have the same attitude about my faith.  I should wake up each morning bursting at the seams to be with God, to be in His presence, to listen for His still voice, to savor Him. A faith that is brewed fresh daily strengthens me, renews me, and enables me to experience the power of God in my life, to run and not grow weary, to walk and not faint.

This energizing, percolated faith is readily available to all who ask, seek and knock (Matthew 7:7-8). So how do I experience this power in my life? By getting alone time with God, reading the Bible, and listening for His voice each day. “So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ” (Romans 10:17).

Like a morning with no coffee, there are times when I am sluggish in my faith. Times when trusting Him doesn’t come easily. Times when I need a spiritual espresso. I’ve had several lethargic mornings lately because of life situations that have brought my attitude down.

One realistic way to build my faith back up is by remembrance. When David was just a shepherd boy, he had courage to face a giant partly because he remembered the previous victories the Lord allowed him to experience. He approached King Saul with great confidence, saying: The LORD who delivered me from the paw of the lion and the paw of the bear will deliver me from the hand of this Philistine (1 Sam 17:36). His past victories fueled his faith and helped him to trust God for his present deliverances. Mine does the same. I can face the giants in my life with equal confidence when I pause to remember how God has worked in the past.

Dear God, You have brought me through so many challenging times. Please remind me of Your faithfulness in the past so that I may have a fresh shot of faith that equips me to live today in Your strength. Help me to trust You, and keep me from leaning on my own understanding. In Jesus’s name, amen.

Leave a Reply

