The 7 Year Itch? Not With A Lobster!

So Jacob worked 7 years to pay for Rachel. But his love was so strong that it seemed but just a few days. – Genesis 29:20 (NLT)

Okay, actually Jacob worked for 14 years.  Rachel’s dad essentially tricked him and he worked for 7 years and had to marry Rachel’s sister first. Then he worked another 7 years for Rachel’s hand in marriage. Sounds sweet, but it’s not exactly romantic when your sister is involved. However, Jacob does show that he is willing to work hard to get the girl.

Sean and I are going into our ninth year married and our 16th year together. It feels like just a few years. He is still very much my best friend and I am still very much in love with him. Has it been easy? Of course not! But it works because of the one thing we do for each other. We work at it. I’m not talking about the wonderful way my husband works at his paid job each day (and is great at it, btw). I’m talking about the little acts that say “I love you.”

We do the little things that the other doesn’t want to do. For instance, Sean ran out to the store after 18 hours of plowing snow for the one item I forgot just hours before when I was already there. Or when he stayed home to take care of our 3 year old because she was sick and I have a full day at school. This goes both ways, of course. I stayed up the entire night before while our youngest was puking, making sure she didn’t get it on her covers or in her hair. I made him an entire turkey and all the fixings after his long plowing session. I’m not saying all this to prove who the better spouse is. I am saying this because it is an important part of our marriage.  It’s how we say “I love you.”

For Valentine’s this year, Sean and I decided to find a verse for each other that reminded the other of what we mean to each other.  The verse above is great but that is not my verse. Here is my verse for my husband.

Let us not love with words or tongue, but with actions and truth. – 1 John 3:18 (NIV)

Sean’s love language is acts of service. He would rather take out the trash than say “I’m sorry”. He would rather give me milk because we are out than give me flowers or say “I love you”. But he knows I need words of affirmation so he does say “I love you” every day and is finding a verse because I asked him to.

Fast forward a few days…
Sean and I exchanged verses. I looked at his list; he had at least 10 wrote down! I love this because it shows he cared enough about me to not just find the very first one. He took time to go through to find the perfect one. He is sweet in this way. Keep reading….

lobstersWhat he showed me was Songs. No, not for the reason you are thinking, though, he does loves many verses in this book. 😉  He actually showed me that it says (in the headings) “the man speaks” and “the woman speaks”. And the “woman speaks again”! He wanted to point out that it never says the man speaks again, just the woman (NIV). Now most women would have been upset if THIS is what their husband brings to them, but I love that he is so comfortable with me that we can have these funny biblical discussions about what the bible says. Either way he wins. He is loving, kind, self-sacrificing, and funny to boot. I love my lobster.*

* the reference for lobster is because they mate for life.

Leave a Reply

